Established in 1909, Liga I, Romania’s top-tier football league, stands as a cornerstone of the nation’s footballing heritage. This premier competition has been a theater for Romanian football, providing a stage where clubs compete vigorously for the esteemed league title.

Liga I operates on a system of promotion and relegation, featuring 16 teams that engage in a double round-robin format. Each team faces its counterparts twice – once at home and once away – in the pursuit of securing victories and accumulating vital points. The league is renowned for its competitive nature, showcasing the talent and fervor of Romanian football.

Over the years, certain clubs have left an indelible mark on Liga I, etching their names into the history of Romanian football. Steaua Bucharest, founded in 1947, is one of the most successful and storied clubs, boasting numerous league titles. Rapid Bucharest and Dinamo Bucharest, founded in 1923 and 1948 respectively, have also made significant contributions, adding layers of tradition and competition to the league.

The list of past Liga I champions reflects the competitive balance within Romanian football. Steaua Bucharest, Rapid Bucharest, and Dinamo Bucharest have been perennial contenders, with other ambitious clubs occasionally breaking the traditional dominance. The rotation of champions adds an element of unpredictability to the competition, keeping fans engaged and enthusiastic throughout the season.

The Liga I season typically runs from July to May, aligning with the European football calendar. This schedule allows Romanian clubs to participate in European competitions and contributes to the overall footballing rhythm. The summer start and spring finish provide a consistent and familiar structure for both players and fans.