Established in 2006, the Montenegrin First League, often referred to as the Prva Crnogorska Liga, stands as the premier football competition in Montenegro. This relatively young league has quickly become the battleground where Montenegrin football talents are showcased, and clubs compete for the coveted league title.

The Montenegrin First League operates on a straightforward system, featuring ten teams that engage in a double round-robin format. Each team faces its counterparts twice – once at home and once away – in the pursuit of the league title. The compact nature of the league ensures intense competition, with clubs striving to secure a place at the top of the standings.

Over the years, certain clubs have emerged as standard-bearers within the Montenegrin First League, etching their names into the annals of the nation’s football history. FK Budućnost Podgorica, founded in 1925, is one of the most successful and storied clubs, boasting numerous league titles. Other clubs such as FK Sutjeska Nikšić and FK Zeta Golubovci have also made significant contributions, adding layers of tradition and competition to the league.

The list of past winners in the Montenegrin First League reflects the competitive nature of football in Montenegro. FK Budućnost Podgorica, FK Sutjeska Nikšić, and FK Mogren Budva have been perennial contenders, each enjoying periods of dominance. The rotation of champions adds an element of unpredictability to the competition, keeping fans engaged and enthusiastic throughout the season.