Established in 1991, the Virslīga, Latvia’s top-tier football league, has been a cornerstone of the nation’s footballing culture. This competition, marked by its fervor and commitment to showcasing Latvian football talent, serves as the pinnacle where clubs vie for supremacy and the coveted league title.

The Virslīga operates on a straightforward system, featuring eight teams that engage in a double round-robin format. Each team faces its counterparts twice – once at home and once away – in the pursuit of the league title. The compact nature of the league ensures a competitive environment, where clubs strive to secure a place at the top of the standings.

Over the years, certain clubs have risen to prominence within the Virslīga, leaving an indelible mark on Latvian football. Skonto FC, founded in 1991, stands as one of the most successful and storied clubs in the league, boasting numerous league titles. Other clubs such as FK Liepāja and Riga FC have also made significant contributions, adding layers of tradition and competition to the league.

The list of past winners in the Virslīga reflects the competitive nature of Latvian football. Skonto FC, FK Ventspils, and Riga FC have been perennial contenders, each enjoying periods of dominance. The rotation of champions adds an element of unpredictability to the competition, keeping fans engaged and enthusiastic throughout the season.