Established in 1929, Serie B has long been an integral part of the Italian football landscape, serving as the second tier of professional football in the country. This league, characterized by its competitive nature and storied history, has played a crucial role in shaping the destinies of clubs and players aspiring to grace the pinnacle of Italian football in Serie A.

Serie B operates on a system of promotion and relegation, featuring 20 teams that engage in a double round-robin format. This format ensures that each team faces the others twice – once at home and once away – providing a thorough examination of their capabilities. The ultimate prize for the top two finishers is direct promotion to Serie A, while the third-place team engages in a playoff battle for the coveted promotion spot.

Throughout its existence, Serie B has borne witness to the rise and fall of clubs, with some enjoying sustained success in the top-flight, while others navigate the complexities of Italian football’s hierarchical structure. Iconic Italian clubs such as Juventus, Napoli, and Parma have experienced stints in Serie B, using the league as a springboard to reclaim their status among the elite.

The list of past winners in Serie B reflects the league’s dynamic nature and the cyclical nature of success. Clubs such as Bologna, Torino, and Atalanta, while predominantly featuring in Serie A, have clinched Serie B titles during certain phases of their history. The competition for the championship adds an extra layer of excitement to the league, as clubs aim not only for the immediate glory of lifting the trophy but also for the prospect of returning to Serie A.