Established in 1927, the Ekstraklasa, Poland’s top-tier football league, stands as the epitome of the nation’s footballing prowess and passion. This premier competition has been the focal point of Polish football, providing a stage for clubs to showcase their talent and compete for the coveted league title.

The Ekstraklasa operates on a system of promotion and relegation, featuring 16 teams that engage in a double round-robin format. Each team faces its counterparts twice – once at home and once away – in the pursuit of securing victory and accumulating crucial points. The competitive nature of the league, coupled with Poland’s deep-rooted love for football, creates an environment that captivates fans across the nation.

Over the years, certain clubs have risen to prominence within the Ekstraklasa, leaving an indelible mark on the footballing landscape of Poland. Wisła Kraków, founded in 1906, is one of the most successful and storied clubs, boasting numerous league titles. Other clubs such as Legia Warsaw and Lech Poznań have also made significant contributions, adding layers of tradition and competition to the league.

The list of past Ekstraklasa champions reflects the competitive balance within Polish football. Wisła Kraków, Legia Warsaw, and Lech Poznań have been perennial contenders, with other ambitious clubs occasionally breaking the traditional dominance. The rotation of champions adds an element of unpredictability to the competition, keeping fans engaged and enthusiastic throughout the season.

The Ekstraklasa season typically runs from July to May, following the European football calendar. The summer start and spring finish align with the traditional football schedule, allowing Polish clubs to participate in European competitions and contributing to the overall footballing calendar.